Jairam Thakur takes oath as Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

Posted December 28, 2017

Thakur, who will be sworn in on Wednesday, will be the 14th Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh.

Senior MLA and a former two-time Minister, Mahendra Singh Thakur from Dharampur in Mandi was the second one after the Chief Minister to take the oath.

BJP veteran and former Deputy Prime Minister L.K. Advani was also present.

Sarveen Chaudhary is the lone woman minister in the cabinet and she belongs to the Other Backward Class.

Apart from the PM Modi and Rajnath Singh, the central ministers likely to attend the ceremony comprise Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Nitin Gadkari, Thawar Chand Gehlot while chief ministers likely to grace the occasion are Yogi Adityanath, Shivraj Singh Chauhan, Dr Raman Singh, Vasundhara Raje, Manohar Lal Khattar, Trivendra Singh Rawat, Pema Khandu, Vijay Rupani, N Biren Singh, Devendra Fadnavis, Raghubar Das and Sarbananda Sonowal.

More news: British tourist in Egypt painkillers trial sobs after 'mistake confession'
More news: Facebook AI recognises face, can alert you on misuse
More news: Mauled by dogs: Sheriff offers gruesome details to end speculation

The dominant Rajputs, comprising 37% of the total population, got maximum representation with Thakur and five of his cabinet ministers- Mahender Singh, Virender Kanwar, Vipin Parmar, Bikram Singh and Govind Singh Thakur.

Former Congress leader Sukh Ram's son Anil Sharma, who joined the BJP on the eve of elections from the Congress, was the next to take the oath. Senior leader and former minister Rajeev Bindal was however excluded from the list.

Shimla: The newly constituted Himachal Pradesh cabinet today approved lowering the age for providing social security pension, from 80 years to 70 years, along with removal of chairpersons/vice chairpersons and non-official members of boards and corporations with immediate effect. In 2012, Dhumal had won from the Hamirpur seat but this time, the BJP high command asked him to contest from Sujanpur, where Congress candidate Rana has a strong base. When the assembly elections were announced without BJP projecting a chief ministerial face, supporters of Dhumal and Union health minister J P Nadda projected them as chief ministerial candidates.

Earlier, Chief Ministers of Himachal hailed from Shimla, Kangra and Sirmaur districts. In these elections, the BJP won nine out of the 10 assembly seats in Mandi.